Two more SEC pairs will take the field in new team format at Zurich Classic

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Former Florida Gators Billy Horschel and Matt Every have formed a team; former Georgia Bulldogs Harris English and Hudson Swafford will play, too

NEW ORLEANS, LA —Two more teams with SEC ties have entered the 2017 Zurich Classic, announced Steve Worthy, CEO of the Fore!Kids Foundation, producer of the tournament.

Florida Gator alums Billy Horschel, who won the tournament in 2013, and Matt Every have formed a team, and former Georgia Bulldogs Harris English and Hudson Swafford have paired up for this year’s Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

“Two more SEC teams have been added to our field, so now we have nearly half the SEC represented at the Zurich Classic,” said Worthy. “We know of additional SEC pairings that plan on playing,” he added.

Horschel won the 2013 Zurich Classic with a 20-under 268 topping the previous-best 72-hole score at TPC Louisiana by a stroke. The following season, Horschel fired off one of the best closing stretches in PGA TOUR history and won the 2014 FedExCup with a second in the Deutsche Bank Championship and consecutive victories in the BMW Championship and the season-ending TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola.

Horschel was a three-time first-team All-American at University of Florida in 2006-07 and 2009 and a second-team selection in 2008. He earned a spot on the 2007 U.S. Walker Cup team that included Rickie Fowler, currently ranked ninth in the world.

He finished tied for 36th in last year’s Zurich Classic. His best finishes this season include a second in the RSM Classic after qualifying for the playoff and a tie for fourth in the Honda Classic.

Horschel’s playing partner Every has two PGA TOUR wins on his record—consecutive victories in 2014 and 2015 at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, being played this week.

He qualified for the FedExCup Playoffs every year from 2011-2015.

Every was a walk-on for the University of Florida golf team and wound up being named an All-American three times in his collegiate career. He was named winner of the Ben Hogan Award for the top NCAA Division I golfer, the first Florida Gator ever to earn the honor. He played on the winning 2005 Walker Cup and Palmer Cup teams.

English has won four times on the PGA TOUR, and he teamed with Matt Kuchar to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout in 2013 and 2016. His best finish this season so far was a  tie for fourth at the Shriners Hospital for Children Open. He tied for sixth in the 2013 Zurich Classic. He has qualified for the FedExCup Playoffs the last five years.

He was a four-time All-American at Georgia and was named SEC Freshman of the Year in 2008. He was a member of the 2011 Walker Cup team.

Fellow Bulldog Hudson Swafford won the first PGA tournament of his career this year at the CareerBuilder Challenge. He currently stands 13th in FedExCup point standings. He tied for 12th in the 2015 Zurich Classic.

At Georgia, he was a three-time All-American and was also named SEC Freshman of the Year.

The latest commitments add to what is shaping up as the strongest field in years for the Zurich Classic, with four players ranked in the world’s top 10.

Already announced are the teams of Jason Day with Rickie Fowler and Justin Rose with Henrik Stenson in this year’s unique team format. Day was ranked number one in the world for 47 weeks and is currently second. Fowler is ranked 9th  in the world, Rose is 13th and Stenson is fifth.

Also entered are Justin Thomas, winner of three tournaments this season and currently ranked 7th in the world, along with Bubba Watson, 2011 Zurich Classic champion, currently ranked 17th.

So far, Zurich Classic field of 80 teams is more than half full, some six weeks in advance of the tournament. Some of the teams include:

Jason Day                   Rickie Fowler

Justin Rose                  Henrik Stenson

Justin Thomas             Bud Cauley

Bubba Watson                        J.B. Holmes

Jason Dufner               Patton Kizzire

Steve Stricker             Jerry Kelly

Brian Stuard                Chris Stroud

Seung-Yul Noh           Byeong Hun An

Jason Bohn                 Carl Pettersson

K.J. Choi                     Charlie Wi

John Peterson              Andrew Loupe

Smylie Kaufman         Harold Varner III

William McGirt          Robert Garrigus

Steven Bowditch        Boo Weekley

Tony Finau                 Daniel Summerhays

Fabian Gomez            Jhonattan Vegas

Cody Gribble              Jim Herman

J.J. Henry                    Tom Hoge

Mackenzie Hughes     Nick Taylor

Si Woo Kim                Sung Kang

Kevin Kisner               Scott Brown

Peter Malnati              Mark Wilson

Ben Martin                  Ben Crane

Troy Merritt                Robert Streb

Rod Pampling             John Senden

Brian Stuard                Chris Stroud

Hudson Swafford        Harris English

Russell Henley            Blayne Barber

Zac Blair                     C.T. Pan

Brian Harman             Johnson Wagner

The new 72-hole stroke play format will feature Foursomes (alternate shot) during the first and third rounds and Four-Ball (best ball) during the second and fourth rounds. The starting field will consist of a field of 80 teams. Following the conclusion of the second round, the field will be cut to the low 35 teams and ties at the 35th position. In case of a tie after 72 holes, there will be a sudden-death playoff using the Four-Ball format.

About Fore!Kids Foundation:


Since 1958, the Fore!Kids Foundation has raised money to fund children’s service organizations through golf events like the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, the Golf Ball Gala and several charitable golf tournaments. As a 501(c)(3) corporation, Fore!Kids has helped to raise more than $30 million to date for children’s charities in metro New Orleans and Baton Rouge. More information at

About the Zurich Classic of New Orleans:

Televised in more than 224 countries and territories, the Zurich Classic of New Orleans generates a significant economic impact on the city of New Orleans and the entire state of Louisiana. Independent research has shown that the tournament generates spending of more than $40 million within the local economy and garners $33 million in positive national and international media exposure for both the city and state throughout the year beyond the four days of competition.

The tournament will be played April 24-30, 2017 at TPC Louisiana in Westwego. Purse for 2017 totals $7.1 million, with the winner taking home $1,278,000.

Single-day grounds tickets are only $25 each, weekly passes are $75 and choices of suite and specialty venue options are available by calling the Tournament Office at 504-342-3000 or online at

  • < PREV

    No. 30 Tulane Men’s Tennis earns 4-0 shutout over Arizona

  • NEXT >

    2017 12-2A All-District Boys Basketball Team

Thomas Long

Read more >