Southland announces preseason all-conference teams ahead of weekend openers

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

FRISCO, Texas – Ten of 13 Southland Conference schools are represented on the league’s 2017 preseason All-Conference Baseball teams. The league announced the selections Monday. Voting was among the conference’s baseball coaches.

Sam Houston State, Southeastern Louisiana, and Lamar paced the way, with each school represented with five picks on the teams.  Three players from New Orleans received pre-season honors.

The Bearkats are the defending regular season and tournament champions and the winners of four of the last five regular season crowns. Sam Houston is the pre-season favorite, according to a recent poll of conference head coaches and sports information directors.  Southeastern Louisiana, the regular-season champions in 2015, is tabbed for a second-place finish and Lamar was voted to finish third.

Notables named to the teams include:

  • Lamar senior outfielder Reid Russell, the conference’s hitter of the year in 2016
  • Southeastern Louisiana’s Kade Granier, last season’s  Southland Relief Pitcher of the Year
  • Another Lion, outfielder Brennan Breaud returns after claiming the conference Freshman of the Year award

The ten schools represented: Lamar (5) Sam Houston State (5); Southeastern (5); New Orleans (3); Stephen F. Austin (2); Abilene Christian (1), Central Arkansas (1); McNeese (1); Nicholls (1);  Northwestern State (1).

The two teams total 25 players, including a tie for the second team 3B slot between Lamar’s Robin Adames and Sam Houston State’s Andrew Fregia.

2017 Preseason All-Southland Baseball Teams
First Team

Pos. Name University Class Hometown
1B Trey Silvers Lamar Sr. Manvel, Texas
2B Carson Crites * Southeastern Louisiana Sr. Amarillo, Texas
3B Dakota Dean * New Orleans Sr. Crestview, Fla.
SS Aaron Palmer * New Orleans Sr. Jesup, Ga.
OF Reid Russell * Lamar Sr. Longview, Texas
OF Conner Fikes * Stephen F. Austin Sr. Rowlett, Texas
OF Bryce Johnson * Sam Houston State Jr. Cypress, Texas
C Bryndan Arredondo * Lamar Sr. Lubbock, Texas
DH Hezekiah Randolph * New Orleans Sr. Baton Rouge, La.
P Mac Sceroler * Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Denham Springs, La.
P Heath Donica * Sam Houston State Sr. Corsicana, Texas
P Collin Kober * McNeese Sr. Lake Charles, La.

Second Team

Pos. Name University Class Hometown
1B Russell Crippen Abilene Christian Sr. Snohomish, Wash.
2B David Fry * Northwestern State Jr. Colleyville, Texas
3B Robin Adames[1] Lamar So. Bronx, N.Y.
3B Andrew Fregia1 Sam Houston State So. Liberty, Texas
SS Brennan Breaud * Southeastern Louisiana So. Norco, La.
OF Webb Bobo * Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Prattville, Ala.
OF Zac Michener * Stephen F. Austin Sr. Kennedale, Texas
OF Cutter McDowell Lamar Sr. Friendswood, Texas
C Robie Rojas Sam Houston State Sr. Jersey Village, Texas
DH Kyle Knauth* Nicholls Jr. Slidell, La.
P Riley Gossett* Sam Houston State So. Cypress, Texas
P Kade Granier Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Destrehan, La.
P Cody Davenport Central Arkansas So. Fayetteville, Ark.

*2016 All-Conference selection

[1] Tied with same number of votes for 3B

All 13 conference schools will be in action Friday (Feb. 17) when the 2017 baseball season commences.  Conference play begins March 10, while the 2017 Southland baseball tournament is set for May 24-27 at Constellation Field in Sugar Land, Texas. This year marks the 54th season of Southland Conference baseball.

Please click here for the entire 2017 Southland Conference baseball schedule.

  • < PREV

    Ragin' Cajuns announce home date with Grambling for 2018 season

  • NEXT >

    Sun Belt names Cajuns forward Fields as Women’s Basketball Player of the Week

George Stieren

Read more >