Ragin’ Cajuns set to open spring practice on Tuesday

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Ragin' Cajuns Football

LAFAYETTE – The Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns, coming off a fifth bowl trip in the past six years, will officially open spring practice on Tuesday, head coach Mark Hudspeth announced.

The Ragin’ Cajuns will work out twice this week and will scrimmage twice prior to the annual Red-White Scrimmage on April 8 at noon at Cajun Field. Louisiana returns 13 starters and 53 letterwinners, including Freshman All-America selection Joe Dillon, receivers Ja’Marcus Bradley and Keenan Barnes, along with offensive linemen Grant Horst, D’Aquin Withrow, Robert Hunt and Kevin Dotson.

Dillon, Bradley, Hunt, Dotson and Damar’ren Mitchell were among a group of freshmen who started for the Ragin’ Cajuns during the 2016 season and will be looked upon as leaders heading into spring practice.

“We’ve put a lot of emphasis on developing the younger players and I think we’re going to see young kids excel during spring practice,” Hudspeth said. “Coming into spring practice, we want to build on the momentum that we ended the (2016) season with, winning four of our final six games.”

Louisiana will open the 2017 season on Sept. 2 against Southeastern Louisiana in the annual Herbert Heymann Classic at Cajun Field. The remainder of the Ragin’ Cajuns home schedule includes ULM (Sept. 23), Texas State (Oct. 12), New Mexico State (Nov. 18) and Georgia Southern (Nov. 25).

Season tickets for the 2017 season are available by contacting the Cajundome Ticket Office at (337) 265-2357.

2017 Louisiana Ragin Cajuns Football Spring Practice Schedule
Tuesday, March 7 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 9 – 3 p.m.
Tuesday, March 14 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 16 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, March 18 – 10 a.m.
Tuesday, March 21 – 3 p.m. (Scrimmage)
Thursday, March 23 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, March 25 – 10 a.m.
Tuesday, March 28 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 30 – 3 p.m. (Coaches’ Clinic)
Saturday, April 1 – 10 a.m. (Scrimmage)
Tuesday, April 4 – 3 p.m.
Wednesday, April 5 – 3 p.m.
Friday, April 7 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 8 – Red-White Spring Game, 12 p.m.

  • < PREV

    Football - Demons making changes in spring practice opening Tuesday

  • NEXT >

    Former Ragin' Cajuns star Shawn Long signs 10-day contract with Sixers

Matt Sullivan

Matt Sullivan

Sports Information Director, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Read more >