Quarterback James Tabary named team MVP at annual McNeese football banquet

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

James Tabary

LAKE CHARLES – First year quarterback James Tabary was named MVP of McNeese football at Monday night’s banquet to honor the 2016 Cowboys.

In addition to the R.L. Cline Sr. Award in memory of G.W. “Billy” Cline, Tabary received the Tough as a Boot Award along with receiving his awards for being named the Southland Conference and Louisiana Player of the Year after one of the greatest seasons by a quarterback in school history where he threw for 3,036 yards, the second most in a single season in school history.

Defensive lineman Jammerio Gross was named the Johnnie Caldarera Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year after he led the team with 59 tackles and was second with 7 ½ sacks and 13 tackles for a loss.

Wide receiver Darious Crawley took home the Lether E. Frazar Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year award after he led the team with 41 catches for 701 yards and seven touchdowns.

Other award winners on Monday night included Khalil Thomas, Special Teams MVP; Dylan Long, Dr. David Drez Comeback Player of the Year; Zach Hetrick, WT Burton Award; Jake Grode, Jim Downing Memorial Award; Damon Gladney and DJ Gatlin, Enos Derbonne Memorial Sportsmanship Award; and Mason Martin, Ashari Goins and Thor Miller, Voris King Team Captains.

Gross also received awards for earning All-Southland Conference and All-Louisiana second team honors; Thomas for all-SLC first team and all-Louisiana second team; and Hetrick, Crawley and Andre Fuller for all-SLC second team.

  • < PREV

    Freshman Dancetovic secures conference tennis player of the week honors

  • NEXT >

    SOFTBALL: Martinez claims Sun Belt Player of the Week honor

Matthew Bonnette

Matthew Bonnette

Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Information, McNeese State

Read more >