LSWA announces 2017 All-Louisiana Collegiate Tennis teams

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

HAMMOND – Tulane junior Constantin Schmitz and LSU freshman Jade Lewis took home the top individual honors as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced the 2017 All-Louisiana Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Tennis Teams on Sunday.

Schmitz, a native of Remagen, Germany, was a unanimous choice for the LSWA Men’s Tennis Player of the Year. Lewis, who hails from Hilton Head, South Carolina, took home both Louisiana Women’s Tennis Player and Freshman of the Year honors in her debut collegiate campaign.

The Green Wave nearly pulled off a clean sweep of the men’s individual accolades. Schmitz’s teammate, Ewan Moore was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year, while Tulane head coach Mark Booras claimed Coach of the Year honors. Xavier junior Catalin Fifea was the lone non-Green Wave award winner, earning Newcomer of the Year honors in his first season with the Gold Rush.

While Lewis took home two of the women’s individual honors, Sun Belt Conference champion ULM claimed a pair as well. Head coach Terrence De Jongh was named the state’s Coach of the Year, while Warhawk junior Stefana Andrei was recognized as Newcomer of the Year.

Schmitz added to his trophy case after finishing 15-3 in singles play this spring on the No. 1 court. The American Athletic Conference Co-Player of the Year climbed as high as No. 16 in the national singles rankings and currently sits at No. 17. The AAC’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA Singles Championships, Schmitz finished second at the ITA Southern Regionals.

The Tulane roster was also bolstered by the addition of Moore. The Kilmarnock, Scotland native earned AAC Freshman of the Year accolades after posting a 15-5 dual match singles mark, primarily at the No. 2 position.

Booras molded the Green Wave roster, leading Tulane to an 18-5 record this spring. Under his direction, Tulane climbed to as high as No. 20 in the national rankings and earned victories over a quartet of nationally-ranked opponents – No. 34 Memphis, No. 36 SMU, No. 37 Rice and No. 38 North Carolina State.

Rounding out the men’s individual award winners was Fifea, who provided an immediate impact for Xavier after transferring from VCU, where he was a two-time Atlantic 10 Conference selection. The Bucharest, Romania native currently ranks nationally in both singles (34th) and doubles (21st) in the NAIA rankings, after posting a 10-2 singles mark and a 9-6 record in doubles this spring.

Lewis has a similar positive effect on the LSU women’s roster in her debut collegiate season. The SEC Co-Freshman of the Year is currently ranked as the No. 10 singles player in the country after posting a 15-6 singles record that includes 10 wins over nationally-ranked opponents. She has a win over No. 4 Astra Sharma of Vanderbilt to her credit this season and her win over No. 29 Alizee Michaud of No. 5 Auburn clinched the Tigers’ win that marked the highest-ranked opponent LSU had defeated in program history.

Andrei also was a difference maker in her first season at ULM. The Bucharest, Romania native was an All-Sun Belt selection in both singles and doubles play on the way to earning league Newcomer of the Year accolades. Stepping in right away on the No. 1 singles court, Andrei posted an 11-3 record in dual match play.

De Jongh led Andrei and company to the program’s first Sun Belt Conference title in school history. The Warhawks were 16-1 and riding a 15-match win streak heading into the NCAA Tournament and cracked the top 50 in the ITA national rankings after a win over No. 40 Tulane.

Schmitz and Moore were joined on the men’s first team by senior teammate Sebastian Rey. Rounding out the first team was the LSU senior duo of Jordan Daigle and Justin Butsch, along with Xavier freshman Antoine Richard. Fifea was among a group of honorable mention selections that included senior teammate Karan Salwan and UL Lafayette sophomore Arthur Libaud.

LSU and Tulane placed two players each on the women’s first team as well. Lewis was joined by senior teammate Joana Valle Costa, while Tulane was represented by sophomore Elena Muller and freshman Ivone Alvaro. Rounding out the women’s first team were ULM senior Petra Horakova and New Orleans sophomore Trang Dao.

Andrei highlighted the second team and was joined by sophomore teammate Tiffany Mylonas. Louisiana Tech also placed a pair on the second team in senior Jazmin Britos and freshman Nadja Manjon. Rounding out the second team were McNeese junior Hannah Brett and LSU junior Ryann Foster.

Women’s tennis honorable mention selections included ULM freshman Madlina Grigoriu, Northwestern State freshman Judit Castillo, New Orleans freshman Claudette Gilhespie, Xavier sophomore Charlene Goreau and senior Sara Andrade of LSU Alexandria.

The 2017 LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s and Women’s Tennis Teams were selected by the state’s sports information directors. SID’s were not allowed to vote for their school’s student-athletes.

2017 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Tennis Teams

First Team
Name – School – Cl. – Hometown
Jade Lewis – LSU – Fr. – Hilton Head, S.C.
Elena Muller – Tulane – So. – Dallas, Texas
Petra Horakova – ULM – Sr. – Trnava, Slovakia
Ivone Alvaro – Tulane – Fr. – Albufeira, Portugal
Trang Dao – New Orleans – So. – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Joana Valle Costa – LSU – Sr. – Lisbon, Portugal

Second Team
Name – School – Cl. – Hometown
Stefana Andrei – ULM – Jr. – Bucharest, Romania
Tiffany Mylonas – ULM – So. – Brussels, Belgium
Hannah Brett – McNeese – Jr. – Wokingham, Berkshire, U.K.
Ryann Foster – LSU – Jr. – Sunrise, Fla.
Jazmin Britos – Louisiana Tech – Sr. – Villarrica, Paraguay
Nadja Manjon – Louisiana Tech – Fr. – La Coruna, Spain

Honorable Mention: Madalina Grigoriu, ULM; Judit Castillo, Northwestern State; Claudette Gilhespie, New Orleans; Charlene Goreau, Xavier; Sara Andrade, LSU Alexandria.

Player of the Year: Jade Lewis, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Stefana Andrei, ULM
Freshman of the Year: Jade Lewis, LSU
Coach of the Year: Terrence De Jongh, ULM

2017 LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s Tennis Team

First Team
Name – School – Cl. – Hometown
Constantin Schmitz – Tulane – Jr. – Remagen, Germany
Jordan Daigle – LSU – Sr. – Lafayette, La.
Justin Butsch – LSU – Sr. – Miami, Fla.
Antoine Richard – Xavier – Fr. – Laval, Quebec
Ewan Moore – Tulane – Fr. – Kilmarnock, Scotland
Sebastian Rey – Tulane – Sr. – Wantage, U.K.

Honorable Mention: Arthur Libaud, UL Lafayette; Catalin Fifea, Xavier; Karan Salwan, Xavier.

Player of the Year: Constantin Schmitz, Tulane
Newcomer of the Year: Catalin Fifea, Xavier
Freshman of the Year: Ewan Moore, Tulane
Coach of the Year: Mark Booras, Tulane

  • < PREV

    UNO’s Nicholas Mitchell shines brightly during day two of Southland Conference Track and Field Championship

  • NEXT >

    Cakes blow late lead, lose on wild pitch in extras to Aces

Kemmler Chapple

Kemmler Chapple

Sports Information Director, Southeastern Louisiana University Athletics

Read more >