LA Tech legend Paul Millsap receives Bob Pettit Award for ninth time

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Paul Millsap

RUSTON – For the seventh straight year and the ninth time in the last 10 years, former Louisiana Tech men’s basketball legend Paul Millsap has been selected as the recipient of the Bob Pettit Award for 2017 by the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC).

The award is given annually to the most outstanding professional basketball player from a Louisiana college.

Millsap was named an NBA All-Star four the fourth consecutive year as a member of the Atlanta Hawks who are currently in the Eastern Conference playoffs as the No. 5 seed.

The power forward continues to set new career highs as he is close to wrapping up his 11th year in the league. During this past regular season, he averaged a career-high 18.1 points per game which led the Hawks. He was also second on the team in rebounding (7.7), assists (3.7), steals (1.3) and blocks (0.9).

As a Bulldog from 2003-06, Millsap totaled 1,708 career points and 1,172 career rebounds while being a three-time All-Western Athletic Conference selection. He also became the first player in NCAA history to lead the country in rebounding three consecutive years.

Since award’s inception in 1980, the `Dogs have had more players chosen as the Louisiana Professional Player of the Year than any other college in the state – Millsap, Karl Malone and P.J. Brown – for a total of 19 times.

Millsap is now tied with fellow Bulldog great and NBA Hall of Famer Karl Malone as well as NBA Hall of Famer Shaquille O’Neal as being a nine-time recipient of this honor.

The Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) was founded on September 18, 1974 when representatives from fourteen Louisiana universities and colleges met in Baton Rouge for the sole purpose of forming an organization to promote basketball on all levels in the State of Louisiana. It was the first state-level organization of its kind in the nation.

For all the latest in Bulldog Basketball, follow them on Twitter (@LATechHoops), Instagram (@LATechHoops) and Facebook (LATechMBB) or visit the official website at

  • < PREV

    Softball Playoff Report: Hahnville, Riverside advance to Sulphur with playoff wins

  • NEXT >

    Newman captures boys, girls district track & field titles 2017

Kane McGuire

Kane McGuire

Assistant Director of Media Relations, Louisiana Tech

Read more >