Holy Cross defeats Shaw easily on mat

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Holy Cross continues to look like the most likely challenger to Brother Martin’s supremacy in Division I wrestling.

The Tigers went to the West Bank and easily defeated Archbishop Shaw 72-6 Wednesday night.

Holy Cross won 11 of the 12 matches contested.

Scoring falls for the Tigers were Caruso Signorelli (106), Jacob Spahn (120), Robbie Butler (138), Brady Butler (145), Jake Rando (152), Michael Benton (182), Spencer Rayes (195), Cameron Drummond (220) and Randy Amos (285).

The lone win for the Eagles was scored by Justin Gaubert (126), who won by pin.

Here are the results:

Holy Cross 72 Shaw 6
182 Michael Benton fall 1:12 HC over Peyton Clement SH
195 Spencer Rayes HC fall 1:05 over Dylan Nolan SH
220 Cameron Drummond HC fall 1:24 over Brennan Edan SH
285 Randy Amos HC fall 1:42 over Nich Thibodaux SH
106 Caruso Signorelli HC 4:10 Fall over Cody McCollister SH
113 Michael Lundin HC decision 8-2 over Ryan Nquin SH
120 Jacob Spahn HC fall:40 over Anthony Rebando SH
126 Justin Gaubert SH fall over Cameron Doyle HC
132 Cole Clement HC forfeit SH
138 Robbie Butler HC 2:36 Fall over Dawson Vallee SH
145 Brady Butler HC :54 Fall over Armando Amaya SH
152 Jake Rando HC 3:03 Fall over Edwardo Garcia SH
160 Jeffery Argrave HC decision 4-0 over Martin Garrett SH
170 Joey Foret HC forfeit SH

  • < PREV

    Another slow start dooms Lady Demons in loss at Memphis

  • NEXT >

    McDonogh 35 gets second shot at Karr in 4A semifinals

Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan

CAO/Executive Producer

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Football Foundation, College Hall of Fame, Professional Bowlers Tour) and many state and local awards for his work in the field, Ken currently serves as Sports Director of WGSO, 990 AM and hosts award-winning shows, including Ken Trahan’s Original Prep Football Report and The Three Tailgaters Show with Ed Daniels and Rick Gaille. In 1988, Ken was chosen by the Professional Bowlers Association to receive its annual radio broadcasters national award for…

Read more >