Ewing, Rysemus nominated for McWhorter Post-Graduate Scholarship

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Seniors Sydney Ewing of the gymnastics team and Logan Rysemus of the men’s swimming and diving team will serve as LSU’s nominees for the prestigious H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship, the Southeastern Conference  office announced Monday.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the SEC since 1986 to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes.

The SEC will name the 2017 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 27.

Rysemus is a two-time NCAA All-American and three-time NCAA qualifier. The 2016 100 fly SEC silver medalist owns school records in the 100 fly, 100 back, 200-medley relay and 400-medley relay.

The political science major owns a 3.592 cumulative GPA and is a two-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll. Rysemus has been a large part of the Tigers’ efforts in the community and has been named to the league’s community service team the last two seasons. Rysemus will graduate in May with a degree in political science.

Ewing has been a major part of the best four years in the history of the gymnastics program. The senior is a seven-time All-American on vault, beam and floor. Ewing competed on the three events in every single meet over her junior and senior seasons and set or tied career highs seven different times.

Outside of the gym, Ewing is the president of the LSU Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and the Tigers’ nominee for the 2017 SEC Community Service team. The Louisiana native played a major role in the team’s work in the community and Tiger Cup Awards, which is determined by a team’s finals ranking on the field, along with its cumulative grade-point average and community service hours.

Ewing owns a 3.76 cumulative GPA and will graduate in May with a degree in kinesiology. The three-time SEC Academic Honor Roll member and NACGC/W Scholastic All-American will begin working toward her master’s in occupational therapy at LSU Shreveport following graduation.

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC official sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship.  The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of faculty athletics representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., in early June.

Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Forrest Gamble of the Ole Miss men’s golf team and Haylie McCleney of the Alabama softball team.

  • < PREV

    What Could Have Been: Saints draft moments to forget, 1985-87

  • NEXT >

    LA Tech’s Krystal De La Cruz named C-USA Pitcher of the Week

Michael Bonnette

Michael Bonnette

Associate Athletics Director – LSU Sports Information

Read more >