Dao named to All-Southland tennis second team

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Sophomore earns first postseason honor of collegiate career

NEW ORLEANS – After a successful season at the top singles flight for the University of New Orleans women’s tennis team, sophomore Trang Dao has been named to the Second-Team All-Southland Conference at the No. 1 position, as announced by the league office on Wednesday afternoon.

Dao finished the regular season with a 14-4 overall record at the top singles court, including an 8-1 mark in SLC play. It is the third All-Southland Conference nod for the women’s tennis program, and the first since 2014.

“I am very proud of what Dao has been able to accomplish this season,” head coach Burzis Kanga said. “She has taken her game to an entirely new level and should be considered one of the top players in our league. She is an amazing tennis player and can compete against anyone in the country.”

The 14 wins in singles play set a new career-high for the Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, native, while her .77 winning percentage during the 2017 campaign is the second-highest by an individual since the Privateers joined the Southland Conference, with UNO alumnus Hafsra Laraibi boasting an .83 mark (20-4) back in 2015.

During the 2017 season, Dao went on a career-high 12-match unbeaten streak in singles action, winning 10 decisions with two going unfinished. During the stretch, the sophomore navigated through a five-match week with a 5-0 mark to claim her first Southland Conference Women’s Tennis Player of the Week.

Postseason play begins for the Privateers on Friday, April 28, when UNO takes on McNeese in the opening round of the Southland Conference Tournament at 2 p.m.

2017 All-Southland Conference Women’s Tennis Teams and Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Katya Lapayeva, Lamar
Freshman of the Year: Louise Trigona, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Newcomer of the Year: K. Ljubic, Stephen F. Austin
Coach of the Year: Steve Moore, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

First-Team Singles
No. 1 Katya Lapayeva, Lamar
No. 2 Jelena Dzinic, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 3 Hannah Brett, McNeese
No. 4 Louise Trigona, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 5 Maria Maldonado, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 6 Marina Vicens Miquel, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Second-Team Singles
No. 1 Trang Dao, New Orleans
No. 2 Anna Spengler, Lamar
No. 3 Khee Yen Wee, Sam Houston State
No. 4 Amiru Shimoguchi, Central Arkansas
No. 5 Marli Van Heerden, Central Arkansas
No. 6 Kaja Ljubic, Stephen F. Austin
Singles Honorable Mention
No. 1 Hortense Boscher, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 2 Lucile Pothier, Abilene Christian
No. 3 QiLi Ma, Central Arkansas
No. 4 Sarah Adams, Abilene Christian
No. 5 Judit Castillo Gargallo, Northwestern State
No. 6 Hanna Elfving, Lamar
First-Team Doubles
No. 1 W. Williams/L. Pothier, Abilene Christian
No. 2 Q. Ma/R. Manataweewat, Central Arkansas
No. 3 L. Aginskaya/K. Ljubic, Stephen F. Austin
Second-Team Doubles
No. 1 S. Jurakova/H. Brett, McNeese
No. 2 C. Erlandsson/V. Borbely, McNeese
No. 3 J. Buchta/H. Elfving, Lamar
Doubles Honorable Mention
No. 1 M. Milanovic/C. Casey, Sam Houston State
No. 2 I. Vardanian/J. Gargallo, Northwestern State
No. 3 J. Henry/A. Crossnoe, Abilene Christian

  • < PREV

    What Could Have Been: Saints draft moments to forget, 2015-16

  • NEXT >

    Loyola takes fifth at 2017 SSAC Women's Golf Championship

Eli Sirota

Read more >