Boscarino headlines UNO postseason men’s tennis honorees as Southland Conference Newcomer Of The Year

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Junior Federico Boscarino earns Privateers’ first SLC individual award

NEW ORLEANS – The University of New Orleans men’s tennis team got representation on both the Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Teams and Individual Awards list, as junior Federico Boscarino earned the leagues’ Newcomer of the Year honor while the duo of senior Luis Albuquerque and junior Giacomo Adoncecchi were named Second-Team All-Southland Conference at the No. 3 position.

Boscarino’s individual accolade is the first for the Privateers since joining the Southland Conference prior to the 2014 season. The second-team nod for Albuquerque and Adoncecchi marks the third-straight season UNO has had representation on the league’s postseason teams.

“It is a well-deserved award for Boscarino,” head coach Burzis Kanga said. “He has been one of our most reliable guys all season and constantly came through in high-pressure situations. He has been a great addition to our team. Luis [Albuquerque] and Giacomo [Adoncecchi] are both fighters, they never give up in a match and there was never a contest that they were not competitive in.”

Boscarino has been one of the most consistent players for the Privateers this season, posting two game-winning performance including a 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 triumph in a 3-3 contest against Louisiana-Lafayette to give UNO its fifth-ever victory over the Ragin Cajuns. Overall, the Tucuman, Argentina native has picked up eight victories in singles play and eight in doubles action.

Adoncecchi and Albuquerque posted six total victories as a doubles pair, including two in SLC play. The tandem began the season with three-straight victories, concluding with a 6-1 victory against Southern Miss.

Postseason play begins for the Privateers on Saturday, April 29, when UNO takes on Lamar in the opening round of the Southland Conference Tournament at 10 a.m.

2017 All-Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Teams and Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Kevin Bettendroffer, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Freshman of the Year: Jon Sheehy, Abilene Christian
Newcomer of the Year: Federico Boscarino, New Orleans
Coach of the Year: Hutton Jones, Abilene Christian

First-Team Singles
No. 1 Michael Feucht, Lamar
No. 2 Nikita Lis, Lamar
No. 3 William Mottet, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 4 Paul Cook, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 5 Carlos Pedrosa Cuevas, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 6 Gonzalo Achondo, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Second-Team Singles
No. 1 Kevin Bettendroffer, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 2 Jon Sheehy, Abilene Christian
No. 3 Nico Agritelley, Abilene Christian
No. 4 Sebastian Santibanez, Lamar
No. 5 Benny Schweizer, Lamar
No. 6 Sebastian Langdon, Abilene Christian

First-Team Doubles
No. 1 K. Bettendroffer/W. Mottet, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 2 M. Feucht/B. Schweizer, Lamar
No. 3 J. Laitinen/L. Powell, Lamar

Second-Team Doubles
No. 1 J. Hoogenboezem/N. Lis, Lamar
No. 2 P. Cook/C. Soke, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
No. 3 G. Adoncecchi/L. Albuquerque, New Orleans

  • < PREV

    Updates: SportsNOLA on NFL Draft 2017

  • NEXT >

    Nicholls athletics receives substantial donation for facilities improvement

Eli Sirota

Read more >