2016 All-GCAC Volleyball Teams announced

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

NEW ORLEANS (GCAConf.com) – The 2016 Gulf Coast Athletic Conference All-GCAC Volleyball Teams were announced Friday. Conference regular season champion Xavier led all teams with four total selections. All selections are based on a vote of the league’s coaches.

Six of the conference’s seven schools are represented on the All-GCAC Teams. After Xavier, Dillard and Tougaloo tied for the most selections with three each. Talladega College had two student-athletes recognized and Southern University and Edward Waters added one player each to the roster.

The First Team is headlined by Talladega’s Carla Novaes. Novaes, a senior outside hitter from Sao Paulo, Brazil, currently leads the GCAC in hitting percentage (.332), kills per set (4.7), and ranks in the conference’s top ten in aces per set. She has led the Lady Tornadoes to a 16-11 overall and 8-3 GCAC record with one game remaining. She is a three-time All-GCAC First Team selection.

This season, just two seniors earned All-GCAC recognition after having eight on the teams last season. Freshmen dominated, as six newcomers were selected. The roster is filled out by three sophomores and three juniors.

Novaes and Tougaloo’s Carolyne Edwards are the only players to return from last season’s All-Conference teams.
The GCAC Volleyball regular season will conclude this Monday with the 2016 GCAC Volleyball Tournament set to begin on Friday, Nov. 4, at Dillard University in New Orleans.

The winner will recieve the conference’s automatic bid to the NAIA Volleyball Championships that starts play on Nov. 19.

Individual awards will be announced at the Volleyball Awards banquet on Thursday, Nov. 3.

2016 All-GCAC Volleyball First Team
Name Yr. Pos. School
Carla Novaes* SR OH Talladega
Corneisja Harrison FR OH Dillard
Kaylin Davison JR OH Edward Waters
Juliana Tomasoni JR OH Xavier
Amanda Perry FR L Xavier
Sonja Backovic SO MH SUNO
Demetria Horton SR L/DS Dillard

2016 All-GCAC Volleyball Second Team
Name Yr. Pos. School
Ma-Kayla Johnson FR S/RS Dillard
Carolyne Edwards# SO OH Tougaloo
Jessica Porter JR OH/DS Tougaloo
Tiffany Phillips FR S Xavier
Hasani Salaam FR MB Xavier
Bethany Holland FR S Talladega
Alexandra Jwainat SO S Tougaloo

#-Two-time selection
*-Three-time selection

  • < PREV

    Woelfl 4th, Soto 5 at SLC XC Championships

  • NEXT >

    Video: Will Smith, Hokie Gajan honored by Saints Hall of Fame

GCAC Media

GCAC Media

Read more >